BRA Board of Directors elects Granbury, Waco directors for positions

Board of Directors
Click to view larger image

The Brazos River Authority Board of Directors, at its November 2023 meeting, re-elected Rick Huber of Granbury to serve as Assistant Presiding Officer and elected Wesley Lloyd, of Waco, as Board Secretary.

Each will serve for two years or until a successor is selected.

The Brazos River Authority's governing Board consists of 21 members appointed by the governor and subject to confirmation by the Texas Senate. Directors serve a six-year staggered term, with one-third being replaced each odd-numbered year.

The BRA Board of Directors is the exclusive policymaking body for the BRA, setting all major policies that guide the overall operations of the organization.

Photo of Director Huber, Assisting Presiding Officer
Director Huber
Assistant Presiding Officer

Assistant Presiding Officer

Director Huber has been a Board member since 2015 when he was appointed by Governor Greg Abbott. He is a graduate of Mississippi State University, where he received a Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering.

A former U.S. Air Force pilot and a retired American Airlines Captain, Huber is a member of the Fort Worth Air Power Council and the Grey Eagles. He also serves on the Granbury Regional Airport Advisory Board and is vice-president of the Mesa Grande Water Supply Corporation. Huber is the former chairman of the Hood County Appraisal Review Board and former member of the Leadership Granbury Board of Directors, where he was named Board Member of the Year in 2014-2015.

His term expires in 2027.

Photo of Director Lloyd, Secretary
Director Lloyd


The Board also elected Director Wesley Lloyd as Board Secretary.

Lloyd is an attorney with Freeman Mills PC, where he handles litigation and appeals primarily in disputes involving upstream oil and gas operations and midstream pipelines.

"I'm honored to have been nominated and elected by my fellow directors," Lloyd said. "We have a wealth of talent and valuable experience on this board, but more importantly, they're all genuinely good people who take the future of water in this state very seriously."

Lloyd was appointed in 2016 to the Board of Directors by Gov. Greg Abbott.

He is Board certified in Oil, Gas & Mineral Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization, but also has considerable experience in water and environmental law. In 2011, he received the Young Lawyer of the Year Award from the McLennan County Bar Association. He has been named a "Rising Star" in Energy Law by Texas Monthly Magazine each year since 2012.

Lloyd is active in the community, serving in leadership positions for several different organizations. He also served for eight years as Governor Perry's appointee on two statewide boards responsible for leasing state land for oil and gas development.

Lloyd earned a Bachelor of Science degree from Texas A&M University and a Juris Doctorate from Texas Tech School of Law.

His term expires in 2025.

Photo of Director Flores, Presiding Officer
Director Flores
Presiding Officer

Presiding Officer

The Assistant Presiding Officer and Secretary are the two elected positions on the Brazos River Authority Board of Directors.

The Presiding Officer of the Board of Directors is a position that is designated by the governor, has general supervision and control of its business and affairs and presides at all Director's meetings.

Cynthia A. Flores of Round Rock was appointed to this position in 2015.

In 2008, Flores graduated from Leadership Round Rock and began serving as an ambassador for the Round Rock Chamber of Commerce, where she was on the Board of Directors.

Flores served as a board member of Williamson Burnet County Opportunities, Inc. from 2009 – 2015 and as a board member for Footprints Children's Grief Ministry in 2015. She participates in the Williamson County Nonprofit Network group as well as the Catholic Business Network and Ministerial Fellowship groups.

Flores received a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of North Texas.

Her term expires in 2027.

To learn about each of the other members of the Brazos River Authority Board of Directors, go here.